Search Update

After waiting another three months after hearing from my search consultant I decided to give her a call to see what’s up. What’s up is that post adoption searches are tedious. Among other things to consider are my birthdate, the hospital I was born in and the agency I was adopted from.
The consultant needs to “code” all of my information to narrow down her search. Part of the code is the number assigned to the hospital I was born in and my birthdate. Using that information she searches all male babies that were born at that hospital on my birth date. Another part of the code is the number assigned to my birth certificate which has my parents names on it, not my birth mothers name.
So far my consultant has determined that my birthmothers last name is 8-10 letters long and starts with an S. She also said she may have a full name this week. What may convolute matters more is that my birth mother was born in Oklahoma; if she moved back there after I was born her records will be harder to search because OK. and OH. are two highly uncooperative states when it comes to post adoption searches.
I have a strong feeling that once my consultant discovers my birthmothers name this glacial searching pace will rapidly melt.

Leave a Reply

