A Photo A Day – Hmmm

I made the observation today that several of the photos I have chosen are from Afghanistan, Pakistan or India. Not sure the reason.  Could say something about the paper I get them from.  Could say something about me.  Mostly I think it says something about the photographers and their ability to capture thougth provoking images.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Caption: Afghan policemen are mirrored in glass from a broken window as they stand guard outside the building where Taliban fighters launched an attack in Kabul on April 16, 2012. A total of 36 Taliban militants were killed as they mounted a wave of attacks across Afghanistan, Interior Minister Bismillah Mohammadi said on April 16. Photo: Johannes Eisele / AFP/Getty Images

I was drawn to this picture first because I was wondering, “who thinks to take a picture of a reflection of someone in broken glass?”  Then I noticed the design in the pavement and was intrigued by pattern.  Then I read the caption and understood the choice to take the picture.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Caption: A Pakistani browses mosquito nets on display for sale at a roadside stall in Rawalpindi, Pakistan, Monday, April 16, 2012. Photo: Anjum Naveed / Associated Press

This photo is similar to others I have chosen.  I like them because they tell the story of ordinary people getting on with their lives amidst circumstances they cannot really control.  The color juxtaposed with the bleakness is what gets me.  I wonder what images they see of us?

 

Oh yeah, Baywatch and Jersey Shore.

Leave a Reply

