A Photo(s) A Day – relativity

This photo reminded me of my trip to Thailand years ago where I was struck with the realization that my country was a child relative to other cultures. I remember visiting a temple with a jade Buddha. The temple had four entrances each with double doors. The double doors were each about 6 or 7 feet high and about 3 feet wide making the entrances about 6 feet wide. (As I’m typing this I’m realizing my description my not be the best, but hey, it’s not too bad considering I was in Thailnd over 20 years ago. Ok, I’ll get to the point.) Eeach door panel was intricately decorated with inlaid pearl. It was absolutely amazing. See for yourself:

Temple of the Emerald Buddha:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The doors I was attempting, poorly, to describe:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
The photo below from this morning took me right back there. It wasn’t the Monks, but the detail of the stonework.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Caption: Buddhist monks pray at the Borobudur temple during the Vesak festival in Magelang, Central Java on May 6, 2012. Buddhist devotees in Indonesia celebrated the birth, enlightenment and the passing away of the Buddha. Photo: Clara Prima / AFP/Getty Images

Leave a Reply

