Drifting 2

I’m learning how to bend the Drift app I have to my will; which makes it more fun.  Sometimes I ignore the instructions the app gives me, walk whatever direction I want and capture images of things that catch my attention.  Regardless of how it’s done, this app definitely encourages creativity. The last time I drifted was on a Sunday.  On that venture I was thinking how sad and dull my little town, (little from the perspective of growing up here, the population now is over 200,000), was.  Today, Saturday, I found the city to be not so dull or sad but maybe, possibly, a little hip.  Across from the local historical museum gathered in a corner rose park tended by local rose enthusiasts were people and their retro cruiser bicycles.  There were probably 25-30 people, some with truly vintage bikes, some with new bikes designed to look vintage.  Incidentally, I like how the word vintage has become a word to describe everything from well preserved to old and crusty.  As I approached the group mounted there cycles for what I presumed was a ride about town.  Neat. There were also several shops open with sandwich boards outside hawking their wares and one store with a peeping cow:

IMG_1133

This was one of the photos I snapped for fun, as is this one which was near where I shot the photo of the cow:

IMG_1132

 

Had never noticed this plaque before; which is what makes Drift fun.

Begin Drift:

 

 

Walk east for a block and find something that was recently improved and take a picture of it. Found at 13th Street Modesto CA 95354 USA.

It was hard to find something within a block that was recently improved, but this sign looked new to me.


Walk south for two blocks and find the nearest example of something hand-made and take a picture of it. Found at 13th Street Modesto CA 95354 USA.


Walk north until you can find evidence of poor decision making and take a picture of it. Found at 13th Street Modesto CA 95354 USA.

To be clear, going here may in fact be good decision making, but doing the things that necessitated going here probably involved poor decision making.


Turn on the compass and then turn your phone clockwise until it changes direction and then walk in that direction until you see a clock and take a picture of it. Found at J Street Modesto CA 95354 USA.


Walk south until you think you can overhear a conversation and take a picture directly above you. Found at J Street Modesto CA 95354 USA.

Cheated a little. The “conversation” I heard was the music coming from the State.


Walk west for a block and look for something to repair and take a picture of it. Found at J Street Modesto CA 95354 USA.


Walk south for one block and take a picture of the nearest window from the perspective of a child. Found at 11th Street Modesto CA 95354 USA.


Walk east until you find something small and green and take a picture. Found at 11th Street Modesto CA 95354 USA.


Walk south for a block and find something hopeful and take a picture of it. Found at I Street Modesto CA 95354 USA.


Walk west until you see something warm and take a picture of it. Found at I Street Modesto CA 95354 USA.

Looked warmer when I snapped the photo; maybe I should’ve touched it first.

Leave a Reply

