Mother’s Day Breakfast

1

 

 

 

 

 

 

On the Way

“This is certainly Nice of you to take me to breakfast.”

“I thought you’d enjoy it.”

“Sure is beautiful weather for Mother’s day; not a cloud in the sky.”

“Yep, it’s a little windy but otherwise perfect.”

“This is so nice having my son take me to breakfast.”

“Well it’s good to get out of the house now and then.”

At Breakfast

“How nice to be treated to breakfast by my handsome young son.”

“I’m not sure who you’re talking about.”

“Why you of course!”

“Oh, you’re just saying that because you’re my mom.”

“No, you are handsome.”

15

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Sure are a lot of mothers here today.”

“Uh-huh, lots of people treating their mothers to breakfast.”

“I am so blessed to have such a wonderful family and  such a handsome son to take me to breakfast.”

“If you keep saying that people might start to believe you.”

“Well, you are handsome, accept it!”

“Ok.”

“It’s really filling up. Lots of mother’s here today.  I am so blessed to have such a wonderful family, and a handsome son.”

“I’m starting to get a swollen head from all the handsome talk.”

“Oh, you are not…..There are a lot of mom’s in here this morning.”

“Yes, there certainly are.”

“I don’t think I can eat all of this.”

“That’s ok, we can get a doggie bag.”

“Good. I am so blessed to have a handsome son to take me to breakfast.  I have a wonderful family.”

“Most days.”

“Oh, Mike.  I like coming here, they always have good food…….Such nice weather for Mother’s Day.  This place is full today….”

“Uh-huh.”

“….I’m lucky to have such a handsome son, and wonderful family; I’m really blessed.”

“Now if you keep that up people are going to think I’m paying you to say I’m handsome.”

scan0021

 

 

 

 

 

And So It Went

I have, as I’m sure others have, described conversations with my mom as listening to a broken record. Many people who now meet her for the first time don’t notice she has Alzheimer’s/dementia because she can usually carry on short conversations. Her dementia doesn’t usually show right away, but 20 minutes or so into a conversation she starts repeating the conversation.  Today the repetition was especially sweet; never hurts to hear how handsome one is. I am very lucky to have such a sweet mother who never has had a bad thing to say about anyone. I am especially fortunate that she has remained so sweet and kind as her dementia progresses.

“I am so blessed to have such a wonderful family, and such a handsome son.”

Leave a Reply

